The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the launch of its Twenty20 league in a jam-packed press conference here on Thursday. The league will be called ‘Indian Premier League’ (IPL), said the vice-president of the BCCI, Lalit Modi.

Its final leg will be called ‘Champions Twenty20 League’.

The tournament will start in April 2008. And the Champions Twenty20 league is slated to be played in the first week of October 2008. The IPL, that will have 59 matches in total, will be played on a home and away basis. The aim of the league is to revitalize domestic cricket.

Eight domestic teams from four nations will participate in the first Twenty20 League. Apart from India, Australia, England, South Africa to take part in the league.

The champion team in the Champions Twenty20 league will get $5 million, highest prize money ever for a cricket event.

Highlights of the meeting:

* Stephen Fleming has been included in the league.
* Shane Warne has confirmed his association with the league.
* BCCI not to alter central contract of the cricket
* Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, Pataudi and Rajeev Shukla named in the governing body.
* Each foreign player will be named ‘designated player’.
* Each franchise will have a home ground.
*The winner will get Rs 8 crore and the total prize money is Rs 20 crore
*Prize money for Indian Premier League will be $3 million.

Source: Indiatimes

Related Posts by Categories

Widget by Hoctro | Jack Book


Recieve Jokes By Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner